Travelling in Israel and Dietary Restrictions

Travelling in Israel and Dietary Restrictions

Many travellers are concerned: Will my dietary restriction be an issue in Israel? – In short, our answer to this question: Whether your diet be kosher, vegan or vegetarian – you will find Israel to be a true culinary paradise for your dietary needs.

Eating Kosher

No doubt: Israel knows kosher cuisine best. No one, from traditional Jewish fare to pizza and sushi—kosher eaters will be disappointed. The selection is without limits or limitation.

Vegan and Vegetarian

With over 400 vegan and vegan-friendly restaurants, Tel Aviv has earned its title of “Vegan Capital of the World.” Take a stroll through one of the many outdoor markets and you will find it brimming with an array of fruits and vegetables so fresh that you can still smell the earth on them. Also outside of vegan and hipster Tel Aviv, the Israeli diet is based on heaps of salads, fresh fruit and vegetables.

Food Allergies

If you have food allergies it is safe to assume you take caution no matter where you travel — in Israel, it’s no different. In fact, many local dishes contain high-risk allergens like peanuts and sesame seeds. It is of utmost importance to always inform a restaurant of your allergy and be very clear regarding the precaution of cross contamination.

A language barrier or simply a different name for an herb or nut could be detrimental. For this reason, it is advisable to do your research and translate the foods you are allergic to into Hebrew to clarify with restaurant staff (read more about sesame and nut allergy in Israel).

Gluten Free

For those who can’t eat gluten, the good news is that quite a few of Israel’s classic dishes happen to be naturally gluten-free. You can enjoy every bit of flavour and texture without sacrifice! Even Israel’s classic peanut snack, the Bamba, comes in a gluten-free version.